Keeping My Fingers Crossed for New Horizons

Well, the wedding is now done and Maria and I are hitched. We’re getting back into our daily routine and I’m hoping I’ll have more time to do posts here on Spare Time Science, my labor of love.

In the meantime, I woke up this morning to the news that the New Horizons probe, which is just 9 days out from its closest approach to Pluto on July 14, lost communication with Earth for a while and entered into safe mode. NASA has since reestablished communication and the probe seems to be healthy. I’m keeping my fingers crossed that all will be well so we can see more beautiful color images like this of Pluto (this is the first color photo of Pluto and its largest moon Charon ever):

nh-7-3-15_color_rotation_movie_nasa-jhuapl-swri

Leave a Reply

