Nerdy Music

I have been busy lately helping my fiancée Maria with a rather time-intensive project on her blog, one that involves quite a lot of (extremely basic) HTML coding. While I was working on it, I was reminded of one of my favorite songs, Code Monkey by Jonathan Coulton. If you haven’t heard of Mr. Coulton and are nerdily-inclined in any way, I highly recommend him. The particular version of Code Monkey that I thought of is this delightful dance interpretation by another fan found here:

The “Proud to Be Awesome” shirt with the pink PJ pants is quite the combo.

Mr. Coulton has created many other delightful songs, including a song about the presidents of the United States (surprisingly enough, titled “The Presidents“), a song about Christmas in a space mine/prison, and a song about an NPR host secretly being a rave dancer. These are just few examples of a pretty large catalog, of course. There are two other songs you may like to know about, both of which I will include videos for. The first is this delightful tune composed entirely from random Flickr photos Mr. Coulton found:

Mr. Coulton also composed this closing song from a video game near and dear to my heart, Portal:

Look at me still talking when there’s science to do

Leave a Reply

